Raspberry Custard

IMG_1813

I once competed in the Miss Teen United States-World Pageant the judges asked me what my last meal would be.  I think about this question all of the time, actually, because I really can’t decide.  I ended up talking about food for my entire 6 minute interview and they later told me that I was the topic of conversation because they had never met a “pageant girl who is so passionate about food.”  When I was listing off the ridiculous amount of different foods I would eat if I only had one meal left I included fresh raspberries.  To my delight, when I returned home for the summer to Montana, raspberries were in their peak and this dish showcases them beautifully.

The sweet and creamy custard (maybe more like a dutch baby) paired with the fresh and slightly tart raspberries are a match made in heaven.  It is rich and yet still very light at the same time.  It is also great reheated the next day.

Makes 6 servings/Everyday Food

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup whole milk
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup plus 1 Tablespoon sugar, divided
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 cups raspberries (about 9 ounces)
  • optional:  6 ounces blueberries

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  In oven, melt butter in a 9 inch pie plate about 6 minutes.

In a blender, combine milk, eggs, 1/2 cup sugar, flour, salt and vanilla.  Add melted butter from the pie plate and blend mixture until smooth, about 30 seconds.  Distribute berries evenly in pie plate and pour batter over top.  Sprinkle with 1 Tablespoon sugar and bake until slightly puffed and just set in middle, about 20 to 25 minutes.  Heat broiler and broil until top is deep golden brown, about two minutes.  Be really careful to watch the broiler because one minute it could be slightly golden and the next it could be burnt.  Serve warm.

One thought on “Raspberry Custard

  1. Thanks! The raspberries here in Michigan are also gorgeous. I picked two Fridays in a row – 8 pints each time. Also picked 12.5 pounds of blueberries. They are AMAZING, so this recipe is most timely. If time allows and the berries cooperate, I’ll pick 8 more pints this week. The jam is done, but still want to freeze some for smoothies during our long, long winter.

    Did your mom find a place in Seattle? I have something set aside for you from my collection of cookbooks, but just haven’t gotten around to getting it in the mail. I’ll wait until you get back to WA so that you don’t have more to pack. Enjoy the time in Montanta.

    Loving your blog.

Leave a Reply

