Tarragon Potato Salad

I began my sophomore year at Western Washington University and Fairhaven College. I write for The Western Front newspaper and though I have to write about things that I don’t necessarily always care about, it feels good to see my articles in the paper.

I know what it means to be a poor college student. I have a monthly budget for myself, and September’s money was spent by the middle of the month. My roommate, Micky, and I have become great at still eating good food and maintaining our budget.  The other night we mooched off of her mom’s garden and went home with tons of veggies.  We roasted them and I’ve been eating roasted veggie eggs, roasted veggie mac and cheese, roasted veggie quesadillas and then last night Mick just had a bowl of roasted veggies.

The other night we were feeling particularly naughty and we splurged on our favorite caramel lattes from Avellino, a coffee shop and bakery in Bellingham.  They make their own caramel and put a whole spoonful of it into the lattes, which pair excellently with a potato, chive and bacon biscuit.  I’m salivating just thinking about it.

We haven’t grocery shopped in a while, but tonight we are going to Trader Joes.  All day in class I was making lists of items that I want to purchase.  The highlight of my week will be getting to go grocery shopping.

Here is a scrumptious recipe for potato salad.  It may possibly be the best potato salad that I have ever had, beside Essential Bakery’s in Seattle.  It tastes so fresh, and is an interesting alternative to the well-known yellow looking smush that comes in pre-made tubs at the store.  Try it, you’ll like it.

Serves 6/Ina Garten’s How Easy Is That?

  • 2 pounds medium Yukon Gold potatoes (6 to 8 potatoes)
  • Kosher salt
  • 1 cup mayonnaise (I use Best Foods)
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 tablespoons chopped scallions, white and green parts
  • 3 tablespoons minced red onion
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh tarragon leaves
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh dill (I left this out because I believe that dill is the spawn of Satan, but I am sure it would be lovely if you have the palate for it)

Place the potatoes in a pot with enough water to cover them.  Add 1 tablespoon of salt, bring to a boil, and simmer for 15 to 30 minutes, depending on the size of the potatoes, just until tender when pierced with a small knife or skewer.  Drain in a colander.  Put a kitchen towel over the colander and allow the potatoes to steam for 10 minutes.  When cool enough to handle, peel the potatoes and slice 1/2 inch thick.  Place the potatoes in a mixing bowl.

Meanwhile, combine the mayonnaise, lemon juice, vinegar and 2 teaspoons salt, and the pepper.  While the potatoes are still warm, pour the dressing over them and toss to combine.  Add the scallions, red onion, tarragon and dill (if you decide to use it) and toss gently.  Allow the salad to sit for at least 30 minutes for the flavors to develop.  Sprinkle with salt and serve at room temperature.  I found that you may want to let it sit for 30 minutes and then put it in the fridge for about 15 as well.

2 thoughts on “Tarragon Potato Salad

Leave a Reply

