NW Salmon Bake

My car broke down for the second time this month and now I am driving my mom’s mini-van. Also, because of my reoccurring car problems, I have used all of my years worth of free services from AAA. The other day I called them to get my car jumped because nobody else could jump me. Then later that day I called them again because I locked my keys in my car. When I called I just heard laughing on the other end of the line…the lady was laughing at me for having to call AAA twice in one day. Then my dad laughed at me when I told him that the lady had laughed at me.  There was lots of laughing, none of which came from me.

I made this salmon bake a couple of weeks ago for my roommate. It came from a cookbook that I found on my shelf called, The Northwest Best Places Cookbook. The cookbook features great restaurants in the northwest and showcases the recipe of their best dish. This salmon recipe is from a restaurant in Gold Beach Oregon named Jot’s Resort. I’m sure it is a lovely place, but now I don’t even need to go there because I can make their salmon so easily. This is a very simple recipe. So thank you Jot’s Resort, the memories of eating your salmon made me forget that I am 19 and driving a mini van.

Makes 4 servings/Northwest Best Places Cookbook

Ingredients 

  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 3 tablespoons Dijon-style mustard
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons honey
  • 1/4 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1/4 cup very finely chopped pecans
  • 4 teaspoons minced flat-leaf parsley (I had to use curly and it worked fine too)
  • 4 salmon fillet pieces
  • Salt and pepper
  • Lemon wedges, for serving

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.  Stir together the butter, mustard, and honey in a small bowl and set aside.  In another bowl, stir together the breadcrumbs, pecans and parsley. Lightly season the salmon with salt and pepper and set the pieces on a lightly greased baking sheet.  Brush the salmon generously with the mustard-honey mixture and sprinkle the breadcrumb mixture over it. Bake the salmon until just cooked through, 10 to 15 minutes, depending on the thickness of the fillets.  Transfer the salmon to individual plates, with a lemon wedge alongside for squeezing over the fish.  Serve immediately.

The wet ingredient mixture

Leave a Reply

