Pumpkin Blueberry Muffins

I am on a health kick right now, which is inspired by my nutty mother. She revised one of my Grandmother Bunny’s recipes for pumpkin blueberry muffins to make them less sweet. During my last baking venture (White Cake with Blackberry Frosting), I managed to finish off the cake over the course of a few days by cutting myself a slice every time I walked by it. I needed to switch it up this week and do something “healthy”. Oh and did I mention these muffins are delicious smothered in butter? Heh. Don’t expect anything more than a dense, hearty breakfast muffin.

Makes 12 muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 2/3 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon allspice
  • 1 can solid packed pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar (Up to 1 cup if you aren’t feeling like holding back on the sugar)
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup to 1 cup frozen blueberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix all dry ingredients in one bowl and all of the wet ingredients in another.  Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour the wet ones in it.  Mix until just combined, careful not to over mix.  Add the blueberries and scoop into a buttered muffin pan.  Bake until a toothpick comes out clean.  The recipe says 40 minutes, but I bet they took about 20.

Leave a Reply

