Caesar Salad

My roommate and I are so busy that we have to plan a night every week to make dinner and sit down together. Often I find myself eating in front of the tv or in bed, yikes. This week, we decided to take my new food processor for a “test run” and make my favorite caesar dressing.

Don’t be intimidated by the anchovies.  They look and smell suspiciously gross, but they taste  delicious in the dressing. I wish I knew where this recipe came from so I could write an attribution, but it came from a random typed page that I found in my enormous stack of recipes.

Makes 6 to 8 servings

Dressing

  • 1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 6 anchovy fillets, rinsed and patted dry
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper, plus more for the salad if you really enjoy pepper like I do
  • 1/2 cup olive oil

Salad

  • 3 romaine lettuce hearts, torn or cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 2 ounces (1 cup) parmesan cheese, grated
  • Croutons, optional
Blend all of the dressing ingredients except the oil in a blender or food processor on high-speed until smooth.  With the motor running, add the oil in a steady stream.  Toss the salad ingredients with about 1/2 cup of the dressing.  Sprinkle with extra freshly ground pepper and serve.


Leave a Reply

