Creamy Lime Cabbage Slaw for Fish Tacos

Image

On my last trip to Seattle I raided my dad’s freezer and went home with a bag full of various frozen seafood items.  One of the glorious items was a halibut steak.  I think halibut can be plain on its own, but it makes great fish tacos.  I sought to find the perfect slaw and landed on a recipe from Bon Appetit Magazine.

The slaw is spicy from the pepper and tangy from the lime.  It adds the perfect–and much needed crunch–to fish tacos.  I added honey and red onion to the mix because I had extra red onion on hand and, well, I just love honey.  I cut the recipe in half and it still made plenty for six tacos.

Makes 8 (or several more) servings/Bon Appetit 

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup mayo
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 3 tablespoons (or more) of lime juice
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons finely grated lime peel
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 serrano chile, minced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced or pressed
  • 1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 8 cups finely sliced green cabbage
  • 4 green onions, minced
  • Salt and pepper

(You can add 1/4 cup of chopped red onion if you have it)

Whisk the mayo, sour cream, lime juice, lime peel, honey, chile and garlic in a bowl.  Stir in the cilantro.  Add cabbage and green onions; toss to incorporate evenly.  Season with salt and pepper and then cover and chill for one hour.  (This can be made a day ahead)

For my fish tacos I just marinated a halibut steak in about 1/2 cup olive oil, 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes, 1 tablespoon honey, a squeeze of lime and a sprinkle of salt and pepper for 30 minutes in the fridge and then baked it at 350 degrees until it was cooked through (about 15 minutes).  Then I put a chunk on a taco-sized flour tortilla and topped it with slaw, guac and crumbled queso fresco.

ImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

