Ham and Cheese Waffles

Image

I recently became a breakfast fanatic.  One of my greatest friends Whitney (better known as my other half) has always been the breakfast loving one.  In high school I would stay over at her house, and she would wake me up at six in the morning on weekend mornings to eat breakfast.  At night she would lay in bed and talk about what she was going to wake up and eat.  She usually landed on cereal or a yogurt parfait with chocolate chips, granola, frozen berries and dried cranberries.  I’m not kidding…this girl loves breakfast.  I was never much of a fan, but recently I had a change of heart.  All of a sudden eggs became a staple in my diet and even pancakes aren’t so bad anymore.

I recently went to a friend’s birthday brunch and brought my heart shaped waffle maker.  I was inspired by Bon Appetit and made ham and cheese waffles.  The ham and cheese with a drizzle of syrup was the perfect combination of sweet and savory.  I think my biggest dilemma when going out to breakfast is whether to get something sweet or savory.  Now I can have both with these waffles.

For the waffles

  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 3 large egg whites
  • 3 large egg yolks
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) melted butter
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 3/4 cup soda water (I used regular water and it worked fine)
  • Non-stick vegetable oil spray
  • 1 cup thinly cut strips of ham
  • 3/4 cup shredded sharp white cheddar (Regular cheddar works fine as well)
  • Maple syrup

*Waffle iron

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees.  Heat the waffle iron until it is very hot.  Whisk all of the dry ingredients together in a large bowl.  Using an electric mixer, beat the egg whites in a medium bowl until medium-soft peaks form.  Whisk the egg yolks, melted butter, buttermilk and water in a medium bowl.  Gradually whisk this mixture into the dry ingredients.  Then fold in the egg whites.

Coat the waffle iron in cooking spray.  Pour batter into iron, spreading it into the corners.  Scatter 1 tablespoon of ham and 1 tablespoon of cheese over each waffle.  Cook until medium brown and cooked through.  Transfer to a baking sheet and keep them warm in the oven.  (If you can eat them as they are being made, they tend to get soggy the longer they sit.)  Serve with butter and maple syrup.

Image

Leave a Reply

