Caramelized onion and shallot dip

Image

I moved out of my crazy house of six girls and into a one-bedroom apartment.  This may be the act of someone who is anti-social, but in this case it is more the act of someone who doesn’t want their knives to be put through the dishwasher.  I’m a little…particular…when it comes to taking care of my most prized possessions–most of which are in the kitchen.  

Anyway, my apartment is beautiful with a sweeping view of Bellingham Bay.  My mom had a run-in with an antique store and now I have a “shabby chic” (as my mom would say) side table and lamp for my living room.  

Now that I am somewhat settled, aside from a few lingering boxes that I don’t know what to do with, I recommitted myself to this blog.  To kick off this commitment, I am posting about something just short of genius.  Actually, it is probably even genius.

It combines two of my very favorite things:  French onion dip and caramelized onions.  I found this recipe in a Bon Appetit magazine.  To save money I now take pictures of recipes from magazines with my phone instead of actually buying them.  This is sad considering I hope to work for one of these magazines someday and I should support the industry.  Luckily I asked for subscriptions for Christmas.  Please enjoy this recipe as much as I did.  The only problem I had with it was that it didn’t recommend what should be dipped in it and though I tried triscuits, I am not sure they were the right pairing.  If you try it and have a better suggestion I would love to hear what you used!  

Makes 16 servings:

  • 2 pounds large yellow or white onions, thinly sliced
  • 2 large shallots, thinly sliced
  • 4 sprigs thyme
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup dry white wine
  • 2 tablespoons Sherry vinegar
  • 2 cups sour cream
  • 1/4 cup minced fresh chives
  • 1/4 cup plain whole-milk Greek yogurt
  • 2 teaspoons onion powder

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Mix the onions, shallots, thyme sprigs and oil in a large roasting pan.  Season with salt and pepper.  Roast the onion mixture, stirring every 10 minutes.  Make sure to scrape the sides of the pan for any little bits of onion.  Do this until the mixture starts to break down and caramelize.  It should take about 45-55 minutes for a golden brown color to form.  

Discard the thyme sprigs.  Add the wine and vinegar; stir to scrape up anything leftover on the pan.  Return the onion mixture to oven.  Continue roasting, stirring occasionally, until they are completely caramelized and deep golden brown, about 15 minutes longer.  Spread the onion mixture on a rimmed baking sheet to cool.

Transfer onion mixture to a work surface and mince.  Transfer to a medium bowl.  Stir in the sour cream, chives, yogurt and onion powder.  Season with salt and pepper.

This dip can be made ahead of time and chilled in the fridge for up to 3 days.

Leave a Reply

