Jalapeno Cheddar Cornbread

Image

Every Wednesday I go to my hot yoga class, come home to my glorious produce box, and then head to Bellingham’s Co-op to do homework.  I make myself sit at one of the tables from noon to 5 to get as much work done as possible.  I always treat myself because homework is dreadful, and the Co-op has my favorite baked goods and desserts.  I’m pretty sure I have a stronger sweet tooth than Willy Wonka.

I’ve recently decided to cut back on sugar, so today at the Co-op I sat down with a London Fog and a vegan banana walnut muffin.  I know, that is still a baked good, but it is not nearly as sinful as say, the chocolate mousse cake or the chocolate coconut tart.  In its defense, it was actually quite delicious…until I looked to my left and saw a woman sitting down with a piece of chocolate cake.

She was shamelessly digging into it by herself, taking bites in between reading pages of her book.  I found myself staring in her direction, not at her, but at her cake.  She caught me doing this.  I did some homework, trying to ignore the treats calling my name.  Then an elderly man sat to my right with a giant fudgy chocolate cookie.  I am entirely too familiar with this cookie called, “The Black Swan.”  When he caught me gazing at it adoringly he struck up conversation about the Co-op’s cookies.  Great.  Now I’ve discussed the in’s and out’s of every cookie they have.  This didn’t curb my cravings.  I stared at my whole-wheat muffin.  This story really has nothing to do with this blog post except that the Co-op sells jalapeno cheddar cornbread, so I decided to make my own.

I followed Ina’s recipe exactly from her book Barefoot Contessa at Home

Makes 12 large pieces

Ingredients

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 2 cups milk
  • 3 extra-large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 pound (2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted, pluse extra to grease the pan
  • 8 ounces aged extra-sharp Cheddar, grated, divided
  • 1/3 cup chopped scallions, white and green parts, plus extra for garnish (3 scallions)
  • 3 tablespoons seeded and minced fresh jalapeno peppers (2 to 3 peppers)

Combine the flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl.  In a separate bowl, combine the milk, eggs, and butter.  With a wooden spoon, stir the wet ingredients into the dry until most of the lumps are dissolved.  Be careful not to overmix.  Mix in 2 cups of grated cheddar, the scallions, and jalapenos, and allow the mixture to sit at room temperature for 20 minutes.

Image

Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9x13x2-inch baking pan.  Pour the batter into the prepared pan, smooth the top, and sprinkle with the remaining grated cheddar and extra chopped scallions.  Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Pay close attention while baking because my oven cooked this faster, and you don’t want it to become dry!  Cool and cut into large squares.  Serve warm or at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

