Cornbread Salad with Buttermilk-Herb Dressing

IMG_2866

I didn’t realize how long I had gone without writing a new post until my biggest fan, my dad, reminded me.

In June, my next post was going to use the pecan crust and chocolate ganache for one hefty entry about an out-of-this-world pie Julie and I made for David’s birthday. It was a pecan crust–crunchy and nutty, layered with custard, chocolate ganache, fresh banana, pecans and whipped cream. It was heavenly, high-maintenance and perfect.

I took numerous sexy photos of it using my iPhone because we ate it places I didn’t want to take my big SLR camera. Well…soon after, I turned 21 and my phone was stolen right out of my purse one night. One of my first thoughts? My oh-so-scrumptious photo shoot of the pie is gone! 

I now have my friend’s old LG Chocolate, the kind of phone that was all the rage in 2006. They don’t sell chargers for it anymore, so I only have the car charger. I know this isn’t any excuse to not blog for almost 3 months, but that is my only explanation.

Here is a recipe that I snagged from Smitten Kitchen, which Deb adapted from The Lee Bros. Southern Cookbook. The dressing was herby with tang from the lime, and the cornbread was the kind you would only want to top things with. It couldn’t stand on its own. But I guess that is the point, right? In this case, the cornbread cubes act as croutons. I don’t know if I would recommend this recipe, but try it out or use it for inspiration for another salad you would like to make. I think if I were to make it again, I would use arugula. The dressing was too heavy for butter lettuce. It became soggy rapidly.

Buttermilk-Lime Dressing

  • 3/4 cups whole or low fat buttermilk
  • 5 tablespoons freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/4 cup finely minced fresh basil
  • 1/4 cup finely minced fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 1/4 cup finely minced green onions
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, plus more to taste

Whisk all of the ingredients together. Store tightly wrapped in the fridge.

Thin, crispy corn bread

  • 1 unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 cups stone-ground cornmeal
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/2 cups whole or low fat buttermilk
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter

Preheat the oven to 450°F. Grease a 12-inch skillet with one tablespoon of the butter, leaving any excess in the pan, and place it in the oven.
In a large bowl, whisk the dry ingredients together. In a medium bowl, whisk the egg until frothy and then whisk in the buttermilk. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ones and mix thoroughly. Melt the remaining butter, and whisk the it into your batter.

While the fat in the large skillet is smoking, carefully remove the skillet from the oven and swirl the fat around to coat the bottom and sides evenly. Pour the batter into the skillet; it should “sizzle alluringly”, says the Lee Brothers. Bake for 15 minutes, or until the top of the bread is golden brown and the edge has pulled away from the side of the skillet. Remove from the oven and let it cool. Cube it for the salad.

IMG_2865

Leave a Reply

