Chewy Ginger Molasses Cookies

IMG_3488

You know you got dressed for work at 3:30 a.m. when you get home from your shift and realize your underwear is both inside out and backwards.

I’ve been baking professionally for a month now at a sweet bakery a couple blocks from my house. This morning I was daydreaming of my head hitting the yellow polka dotted pillow on my bed and accidentally burned the lemon scones. Not terribly, just in an over-caramelized singed way.

The other day I made these cookies to then make them into a crust for a pumpkin cheesecake. I hadn’t made cheesecake in years and regretfully didn’t let the cream cheese come to room temperature, resulting in a lumpy cake. In my defense, I had to expedite the process; I was eating the would-be crust cookies at an impossibly high rate. Though the cheesecake wasn’t worthy of posting, these have become my favorite cookies.

Makes 40 cookies

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 2 teaspoons peel and grated fresh ginger
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • About 1/2 cup of turbinado sugar for rolling

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, ground ginger, cinnamon, allspice and cloves.

In a standing mixer with a paddle attachment (or a hand mixer), beat the butter and white sugar together until it is light and fluffy, 3-4 minutes. Scrap down the sides of the bowl and add the egg, fresh ginger and molasses. Turn the mixer to low and add the dry ingredients, mixing only until combined.

Cover and refrigerate the dough for at least an hour. When you’re ready to bake them, heat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Roll the dough into ball about an inch in diameter (I vary them in size every time I make these and they turn out). Roll in turbinado sugar and place on a baking sheet lined with parchment.

Bake in several batches for at least 7 minutes. If I make them bigger in size I have to bake them for up to 12 minutes. Set a timer for 7 and then go from there. Remove them from the oven. Let cool for 2-3 minutes on the baking sheet and then transfer to a cooling rack. This will allow them to firm up. Repeat.

 

Leave a Reply

